When a waitlist is configured on a field, the waitlist is considered to be enabled (i.e. configured), but is not activated.
When the max count on a waitlist is reached this will automatically activate the waitlist by displaying the 'Sold Out' text on the registration form, enable the ability for individuals to join a waitlist and provide the tools for the admin to manage the waitlist. As the item is added or removed from the registration shopping cart, the registered count will fluctuate. If the registered count changes to below the max count due to the item being removed from the cart or cancelled registrations, this will
not deactivate the waitlist. The waitlist remains active and the admin will need to manage and allocate the remaining available spots.
IMPORTANT NOTE: Items are counted when added to a registrant's shopping cart, regardless if the item has been paid or unpaid. Therefore, there will be incomplete attendees who have reserved a spot. The admin should review, manage and email incomplete attendees manually using the Report tools or we recommend using the Complete Attendee wizard to automate notifications and manage incomplete invoices. Refer to:
How to manage Incomplete Registrations using the Complete Attendee Wizard