How to Find Duplicate Contacts?

How to Find Duplicate Contacts?

The Duplicate Contact Search feature will search the contact module and flag any contacts that need to be reviewed as potential duplicates. The search will first match on where the combination of the first and last name are the same and then secondly match profiles with the same last name. Then a merge contact may be performed to eliminate the duplicates.

  1. Click Dashboard
  2. Click Contacts Module in left side menu
  3. Click Download button
  4. Click Contacts tab
  5. Click Go for Duplicate Contact Search
    • NOTE: Depending on how many contacts are in the system, this may take several minutes to complete the search and display on-screen
  6. Once the search completes, the screen will refresh displaying a list of contacts with the same first and last names at the top of the lists and will contain a 'Yes' under the High Priority column
  7. Under the column labelled 'List of People', each contact ID number and corresponding first name will appear as a hyperlink, click on a contact ID link to view that contact profile information
    • The contact ID that is clicked on first will appear as the 'Main Contact'
    • In the pop-up screen, other Potential Duplicate(s) listed, click on a name to view the corresponding potential duplicate contact profile information
    • Note: If a contact belongs to any membership groups, the group name will appear beside each contact name
  8. Click Merge Contacts button to perform a merge
    • A Merge Confirmation message will appear, asking for confirmation to continue, click Confirm button
    • Note: If the main contact and any potential duplicate(s) belong to a member group, the merge contacts will not be allowed.  The contact profile of the potential duplicate(s) will need to be reviewed and removed from the member group first. Click here to follow the steps on how to remove an individual from a group and then return to this help article.
  9. The pop-up screen will refresh indicating the merge is processing.
    • Do not close this window. The merge may take several minutes to complete.
    • The Main contact will remain in the system, any items (e.g. submissions, registrations, forms, reviews, etc) associated to the duplicate contact profile(s) will be linked to the main contact and unlinked from the potential contact(s), then the potential contact profile(s) will be deleted from the system.
    • Important Note: Only the Main Contact profile information will be maintained, the contact profile field content on the duplicate contact(s) will not be copied over to the main contact. e.g. address information for the main contact will remain intact and will not be updated or replaced with the address information of the duplicate contact(s).